COVID-19 NOTICE: TxDMV, OCCC, Comptroller and TAC

The Texas Independent Automobile Dealers Association is committed to doing everything we can to be a resource for our members during this unprecedented time of uncertainty.

The Texas Independent Automobile Dealers Association is committed to doing everything we can to be a resource for our members during this unprecedented time of uncertainty. Our primary goal is to help you protect your dealership by providing accurate information, sharing best practices and offering guidance. 

In this week's blog you will find important announcements related to the Coronavirus from TxDMV, the Texas Comptroller, OCCC and various tax offices closures.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles:

As of March 16, 2020, there is no requirement for a title application to be submitted within a specified time.  As a result, the delinquent transfer penalty does not apply to any title application submitted between March 16, 2020, and 60 days after the TxDMV provides notice normal titling services have resumed.  Title applications submitted delinquently after 60 days from the TxDMV notice will not be assessed a penalty for any period associated with the waiver.

The TxDMV will provide notice when normal titling services have resumed.  The waiver is in effect until 60 days after the notice is provided and applies to all counties.

Following this announcement, several dealers called TIADA concerned about expired buyer tags. 

Since the requirement to register and the time period in which to apply for title have been waived, the purchasers can operate the vehicles with expired buyer tags.  The dealer should not issue a second buyer tag, and there is no need for a 30-day permit to be obtained.  Dealers may want to proactively contact purchasers with expiring buyer tags, or they can just relay the information if a purchaser contacts them.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles:
TxDMV announced Tuesday, March 17th, that its 16 Regional Service Centers would be closed to the public for in-person transactions as of the close of business on March 17th. 

Services and support will continue to be provided by mail, email, and phone while in-person services are unavailable.  

Following this announcement, several dealers asked about obtaining various forms from the Regional Service Center.
If dealers need the VTR-41-A or VTR-271-A, they can email or call their Regional Service Center. The Regional Service Center email addresses can be found on the TxDMV COVID-19 webpage. The regional office will mail up to 100 forms to the dealer.  If additional forms are needed, prepaid postage would need to be mailed to the issuing RSC.

TxDMV has set up a COVID-19 webpage to provide guidance for motor vehicle dealers and for the public

Texas Comptroller:
Notice Concerning the Transfer of Motor Vehicle Titles

In view of the COVID-19 crisis, Texas Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles recently granted a temporary extension for the registration and titling of purchased vehicles. This will allow auto dealers and individuals more time before they have to appear in person at a county tax assessor-collector office (CTAC) to make these arrangements, furthering the current societal goal of social distancing.

To preserve this accommodation, the Texas Comptroller's office is providing an extension of up to 90 days past the original due date to pay the motor vehicle tax due on these purchases. The Comptroller's office is authorized to make this extension by Section 111.051(b) of the Texas Tax Code. Late penalties will be assessed as if the last day of the extension is the original due date.

Note: This extension does not apply to seller-financed motor vehicle sales; in these cases, the tax is reported and paid directly to the Comptroller's office instead of a CTAC upon registration. 

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC):

The OCCC has posted an advisory bulletin on coronavirus emergency measures for motor vehicle sales finance licensees. A link to the bulletin has been posted at:

Any revisions to the bulletin will also be posted to this page.

State Tax Assessor-Collector Announcements:

TIADA has received several announcements from various tax assessor-collectors who are making significant changes and adjustments related to how they are accepting title and registration packets. The TxDMV website is the best resource for up to date information on closures, work hour modifications and other adjustments.

You may also want to check your local tax office website.

We will continue to provide updates and answer questions from our members. As always, do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist you in any way.


By: Justin Fosbury
On: 03/24/2020 00:13:25
What will be the guidelines concerning essential business operations after Travis/Williamson county issue the shelter in place restrictions. Can a service department remain open and can vehicle sales be conducted as long as they are completed in a work from home environment!
On: 03/24/2020 00:24:06
Until we see the order tomorrow we will not know how Travis or Williams County will view vehicle service or sales. However the Judge indicated the order would be similar to the Dallas County order which clearly considers automotive service to be an essential business. We believe the Dallas order does not consider automotive sales to be essential. We are currently working with the various state, county and city officials encouraging them to list vehicle sales as an essential business. We will keep you posted as soon as we know more.
By: Michael Fish
On: 03/31/2020 17:17:21
Today, 3/31/2020, Gov. Abbott, provided a list of what is considered an essential service or activity. I searched the list provided at:
and I cannot find Auto Sales. Am I mistaken? Does the State supersede Travis County's Stay at Home Order?
By: james wayman
On: 04/21/2020 19:30:51
what do i do i just purchased a truck with no tags or plates. how do i go about getting it legal to drive?
On: 04/23/2020 09:26:08
Did you purchase the vehicle from an automotive dealer or from an individual?
By: Vanessa
On: 04/24/2020 23:14:00
Can an automotive dealer give an authorized dealer tag to a customer buying a new car even though the TxDMV is closed?
On: 04/25/2020 00:32:42
When a customer is buying a vehicle the dealer should issue a buyers tag. TxDMV is not closed. However, your tax office may be closed. Either way, you should still be able to issue a buyers tag. Contact TIADA if you have more questions.
By: Laura
On: 04/25/2020 15:52:39
I purchased a Tesla over a month ago, and TXDMV was not able to issue a temp tag. I am still waiting for either a temp tag or registered tag. Neither has been provided by TXDMV. I already turned in my trade in. I just want to make sure it's OK to drive my vehicle, since I have to get groceries, etc. I've tried to wait it out. I know they need to be safe, but I was thinking TX would be able to process these with stay-at-home employees or something like that.
By: Manuel Diaz
On: 05/06/2020 03:48:36
Are dealers allowed to sale vehicles as of today? Im in the dallas county.
On: 05/06/2020 05:24:21
Yes, automobile dealers are allowed to sale vehicles in Dallas County.
By: Edward Burt
On: 05/06/2020 13:47:24
what do i do i just purchased a truck with no tags or plates. how do i go about getting it legal to drive?
On: 05/06/2020 14:17:51
Edward, did you purchase your vehicle from a dealership in Texas? If so, the dealer should get you your tags and plates. If you did not purchaser from a dealer you will need to go to your local tax office with the title.
By: Danielle
On: 05/08/2020 09:59:33
I have a purchased a vehicle from California with expired registration and now have the paperwork to register it in Texas. It has the inspection and insurance as well. But offices are closed and I need to operate the vehicle for essential things such as my doctors appointments and to the he store. What can I do to operate it legally?

Leave a comment

Commenting is restricted to members only. Please login now to submit a comment.