Vehicle Storage Laws in Neighboring States
Oh, vehicle storage fees. They are the bane of many a dealer's existence. The fees are ridiculous, the storage facilities are rogue operations that do not follow the law and it takes a minimum of five business days before a lien holder is notified that their vehicle is at the facility in the first place. Does every state operate like Texas when it comes to this? Here is a survey of our neighboring states' storage and impound laws.LOUISIANA
Notice to Lienholder Required: Within 10 days if identifying information is provided to the facility by mail. Within five business days if information provided electronically. LS RS 32:1720
Maximum Storage Fee: Gate Fee $45; Outside Storage Facility $29 per day; Covered Storage $33.50 per day.
Storage Facility License Required? Yes. LA RS 32:1717.1
Notice to Lienholder Required: Within eight (8) business days after the date that the towing/storage firm receives the vehicle. Certified mail, return receipt requested.
- Towing/storage company must notify the local police department of a removal within two (2) hours of taking possession.
- Within 24 hours of police receiving notice, the police must provide the towing/storage company with the last known address of both the registered owner and any known lienholder.
- Notification fee [cannot exceed $25] can be charged for actual expenses incurred for affecting notice. Cannot be charged prior to two (2) business days after the date the firm receives the vehicle. A.C.A. 27-50-1208(c)(1)
Storage Facility License Required? Yes. Rule 6.1, pursuant to A.C.A. 27-50-1201 et seq.
Notice to Lienholder Required: Within seven (7) days from receipt of identifying information.
- Licensed wrecker service shall request the Oklahoma Tax Commission to furnish name and address of both registered owner and any lienholder within three (3) business days of the time of possession.
- Tax Commission has five (5) business days from the date they receive the request to respond.
- Registration Check/Notification fee up to $25 to affect notice. 47 O.S. 954A (G).
Storage Facility License Required? Yes. 47 O.S. 951
Be aware that your vehicle might have been towed to a facility that is located on tribal grounds in Oklahoma. This survey is strictly for wrecker services under the jurisdiction of the State of Oklahoma.
Notice to Lienholder Required: Within two (2) business days of identifying the identity of the registered owner and recorded lienholder. Certified mail, return receipt requested. Storage facility must request the name and address of the registered owner and any lienholder within three (3) business days of the vehicle coming into its possession.
Maximum Storage Fee: $30 per day storage charges. $35 plus actual costs administrative charges.
Storage Facility License Required? Yes. 126.96.36.199 NMAC.